Emergency Management Staff and Council Phone (336) 661-6440


Name - E-mail



Office Staff

sadler  TO BE UPDATED   Carolyn
  Melton J. Sadler, Director  
  Leigha Cordell, Coordinator, Logistics Officer  
  Robert Reece, Coordinator, Operations Officer  
  Michelle Brock, Coordinator, Planning Officer  
  Carolyn W. Beck, Administrative Assistant  

e-mail to The Emergency Operations Center (EOC)

The Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Emergency Management Advisory Council

The purpose of the Emergency Management Advisory Council is to advise city and county officials on civil preparedness matters, to recommend the annual budget, and to recommend nominees to the Mayor and Chairman of the County Commissioners to fill Advisory Council vacancies.

Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of January, March, May, July, September, and November at 3:00 p.m., normally at the Office of Emergency Management.

The next meeting is September 9, 3:00 p.m., in the Emergency Management Conference Room at Smith Reynolds Airport, Room 104, Winston-Salem, NC  27105.

Six members from the country are appointed by the Forsyth County Commissioners, and six members from the city are appointed by the Mayor upon nomination by the council's chairman. Each appointment is for a three-year term. An individual can only serve two consecutive appointments (total of six years). An ex-officio member is appointed to represent the following organizations: The Winston-Salem City Council, Forsyth County Commissioners, Kernersville Board of Aldermen, League of Women Voters, Forsyth Northwest Chapter of the American Red Cross, and the Emergency Management Director.

City Council Appointments

C. David Jackson (Piedmont Natural Gas Company)
Renarde E. Earl (Forsyth Technical Community College)
Milind K. Dongre (Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC)
Andrew "Drew" Blackwell (AECOM) 

County Commissioners Appointments

G. Ross Patterson
Neil Bowen (Duke Energy)
Kenneth A. Shaw (Novant Health)
Ann M. Voss (Bank of America)
Charles R. Reavis 
Timothy J. Roten (Wake Forest Baptist Health)

Ex-Officio Members

Thomas Dunn (American Red Cross) 
Irving Neal (Kernersville Board of Aldermen)
James Taylor, Jr. (Winston-Salem City Council)
Melton Sadler (Director, Office of Emergency Management)
Ted Kaplan (Forsyth County Commissioner)

updated 3/4/2015

Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.