Mayor News

Mayor Allen Joines has been appointed to serve on the North Carolina State Banking Commission. The commission is chaired by Janet Cowell, the State Treasurer Ex. Officio. His term runs through March 2015.

The commission governs and hears appeals of the Commissioner of Banks, who is responsible for supervising state-chartered banks and enforcing the banking laws of North Carolina. The commission also considers applications for new bank charters and mergers.

The 22-member commission includes representatives of the borrowing public, bank executives in managerial or supervisory positions, and at least two CEOs of savings institutions.

Read more about the NC State Banking Committee online.


Actions: E-mail | Permalink |