Name of Board/Commission Transportation Advisory Committee of the Winston-Salem Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Date 04/06/15
Authority for Creation The authority for establishing the Transportation Advisory Committee is Title 23 of the United States Code (U.S.C.) 134; Sections 3 (a) (2), 4 (a), 5 (g) (1), and 5 (1) of the Federal Transit Act of 1964, as amended; 49 U.S.C. 1602 (a) (2), 1603 (a), 1604 (g) (1), and 1604 (1); and Chapter 136, Article 3A, Section 136-66.2 (a) (b) of the North Carolina General Statutes.
Purpose/Function The Winston-Salem Urban Area Transportation Advisory Committee has the responsibility for serving as a medium for open discussion and policy development for recommendations made to the general bodies of local government and the boards of the various modes of transportation and as a forum for cooperative transportation planning and decision making for the Metropolitan Planning Organization.
Method of Appointment The Mayor of Winston-Salem and two additional members are appointed by the Winston-Salem City Council; two members by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners; one member by each of the following jurisdictions: City of King; Counties of Davidson, Davie, and Stokes; Towns of Bermuda Run, Bethania, Kernersville, Lewisville, Midway, Rural Hall, Walkertown and Wallburg; Villages of Clemmons and Tobaccoville; and one member from the North Carolina Board of Transportation.
Number of Members Nineteen
Terms of Office Based on appointing authority
Meeting Date and Time Third Thursday of every other month - 4:15 p.m., or as needed.
Chief Staff Person
Toneq' McCullough
Transportation Director
Telephone Number
(336) 747-6867
Current Membership - Transportation Advisory Committee
Name Race/Gender Term Expiration
City Council Appointments  
Dan Besse, Vice Chair WM N/A N/A
Allen Joines WM N/A N/A
James Taylor BM N/A N/A
Robert C. Clark (1st Alternate) WM N/A N/A
Derwin L. Montgomery (2nd Alternate) BM N/A N/A
Forsyth County Appointments    
Walter Marshall BM N/A N/A
David Plyer WM N/A N/A
Everette Witherspoon (Alternate) BM N/A N/A
Davidson County Appointments    
Todd Yates WM N/A N/A
Steve Jarvis (Alternate) WM WM N/A N/A
Davie County Appointments    
Ken White WM N/A N/A
Vacant (Alternate)
Stokes County Appointments    
Leon Inman WM N/A N/A
Vacant (Alternate)    N/A N/A 
City of King Appointments    
Vacant N/A N/A
Vacant (Alternate)   N/A N/A
Village of Clemmons Appointments    
Nick Nelson WM N/A N/A
Mike Rogers (Alternate) WM N/A N/A
Village of Tobaccoville Appointments    
Billy McHone WM N/A N/A
Myron W. Marion (Alternate) WM N/A N/A
Town of Bermuda Run Appointments    
Kenneth Rethmeier, Dr. Ph WM N/A N/A
Vacant (Alternate)   N/A N/A
Town of Bethania Appointments    
Brent Rockett WM N/A N/A
Vacant (Alternate)   N/A N/A
Town of Kernersville Appointments    
Tracey Shifflette WF N/A N/A
Keith Hooker (Alternate) WM N/A N/A
Town of Lewisville Appointments    
Dan Pugh WM N/A N/A
Mike Horn (Alternate) WM N/A N/A
Town of Midway    
Norman Wilkes WM N/A N/A
Robin Moon (Alternate) WM N/A N/A
Town of Rural Hall Appointments    
Larry Williams, Chairman WM N/A N/A
C. Thomas (Tommy) Griggs (Alternate)  WM N/A N/A
Town of Walkertown Appointments    
Randy Mendenhall WM N/A N/A
Vacant (Alternate)   N/A N/A
Town of Wallburg Appointments    
Allen Todd WM N/A N/A
Vacant (Alternate)   N/A N/A
NC Board of Transportation Appointment    
Jake Alexander WM N/A N/A
Ex Officio Members      
Arnold King,
City/County Planning Board
Regina Streed,
W-S Transit Authority
John F. Sullivan III,
Federal Highway Administration
Thomas F. McKim,
Smith-Reynolds Airport Commission
Margaret Bessette,
Secretary to TAC, City-County Planning Board


Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.