Tourism Development Authority (Forsyth County)


  • 2 p.m.
  • Third Wednesday of each month


Method of Appointment

The members are appointed as follows: four members by the City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor, four members by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners, and one member by the Winston-Salem Chamber of Commerce.

Number of Members

Nine voting members

Terms of Office

Three years except for initial terms which vary from one to three years

Chief Staff Person

Richard Geiger
President, Visit Winston-Salem
Phone: 336-728-4231  

Emily Kaartunen, 336-728-4231 (

NameRace & GenderTermExpiration
Jeff MacIntosh (6/2020)
(City Council Member)
White MaleN/AN/A
Lou Baldwin
White Male1October 2022
James Williams
(Less than 100 rooms)
Black Male1October 2021

John Wise - Chair
(Less than 100 rooms)

White Male1October 2022
Dana Bryson
Hotel-Motel 100 rooms or less
White Female
October 2025
Jim BennettWhite Male
October 2024

NameRace & GenderTermExpiration
CJ Johnson

1October 2022
Rob Hill
(Hotel-Motel over 100 rooms)
White Male1December 2021
Ron Mader
White Male1October 2021
Gloria Whisenhunt
(County Commissioner - Ex-Officio)
White FemaleN/AN/A
Dana Suggs
Black Female
October 2025

NameRace & GenderTermExpiration

Authority for Creation

The authority for establishing the Forsyth County Tourism Development Authority is Chapter 908 of the 1983 Session Laws.

Purpose / Function

The purpose of the Authority is to further the development of travel, tourism, and conventions in the county through state, national, and international advertising and promotion.