Citizen-Engaged Community

Citizen-Engaged Community Designation

Winston-Salem is one of 16 cities in the United States to be designated a “Citizen-Engaged Community” for 2012 to 2014 by the Public Technology Institute. It is the third consecutive time the city has received this designation.

The designation recognizes excellence in using technology to give residents multiple options for accessing government services and information, and in offering fast, friendly and responsive service.


The cities that received the designation were cited for offering multiple channels for citizen access to information and services, such as:

  • Call centers and web-based service requests
  • Measuring their performance in service delivery
  • Using technology to integrate those communication channels


CityLink, the city’s 311 contact center, gives citizens three-digit access to request city services, report problems and make suggestions. The contact center is staffed year-round 24 hours a day and receives an average of 32,500 calls a month. CityLink agents can also be reached through e-mail and live chat through the home page of the city website.

Other Designated Cities

Also receiving the designation are:

  • Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Buffalo, New York
  • Charlotte-Mecklenburg County, North Carolina
  • Corpus Christi, Texas
  • Denver, Colorado
  • Evanston, Illinois
  • Hamilton Township, New Jersey
  • Leon County, Florida
  • Miami-Dade County, Florida
  • Montgomery County, Maryland
  • New York City, New York
  • Orange County, Florida
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Sacramento, California
  • San Francisco, California

Public Technology Institute

The not-for-profit Public Technology Institute promotes innovation and collaboration for thought-leaders in government, and advances the use of technology to improve the management and delivery of services to the citizen.

For more information visit the Public Technology Institute website.