Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Utility Commission

Planning & Operations Committee and Committee of the Whole Meeting Monday, Feb. 26, at 2:00 p.m. in the WSFC Utilities-Engineering Conference Room on the second floor of Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building, 100 E. First Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27101.

Regular Meetings are held in person on the second Monday of the month at 12:30 p.m. in the WSFC Utilities-Engineering Conference Room on the second floor of Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building, 100 E. First Street, Winston-Salem, NC 27101.

Agendas, including minutes of past meetings, can be found in the Agenda Center.
Videos of select past meetings can also be found in the Agenda Center or viewed on the WSFC Utility Commission playlist.

WSFC Utility Commission portraits (PDF)

Method of Appointment

Five members are appointed by the City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor. Five members are appointed by the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. The Chair is appointed jointly by the Mayor and the Chair of the Forsyth County Commissioners and may be appointed to no more than five terms. No member can be appointed to more than two terms of five years each. No member of the Board of County Commissioners or the City Council may serve as the Chair or a member of the WSFC Utility Commission while actively serving as an elected official.

Number of Members


Terms of Office

The term of office for the Chair is two years, with a maximum of five terms.
The remaining ten members serve staggered five-year terms.

Chief Staff Person

Aaron King
Assistant City Manager
Phone: 336-747-7068

Current Membership - Chair

L. Wesley Curtis, Jr.
1June 2024336-725-1371
Email L. Wesley Curtis, Jr.

L. Wesley Curtis, Jr., Chair

Current Membership - City Council Appointments

Tom Griffin 2June 2026336-659-2442Email Tom Griffin
Yvonne H. Hines2June 2027336-722-2624 Email Yvonne H. Hines
Calvin McRae
1June 2024
Email Calvin McRae
Charles Wilson1June 2025336-331-9400Email Charles Wilson
Stephen Doughton1June 2028336-813-2187
Email Stephen Doughton

Tom GriffinYvonne H. Hines calvin_mcrae_500x700Charles WilsonStephen Doughton 500x700

Current Membership - County Appointments

Simpson O. Brown, Jr. 
1June 2027336-671-3800Email Simpson O. Brown, Jr.
Hugh W. Jernigan2June 2028336-407-5221 Email Hugh W. Jernigan
Duane Long2June 2025336-414-5664 Email Duane Long
Chris Parker, Vice Chair2June 2024336-945-5410 Email Chris Parker
Harold Eustache1June 2026704-453-4593
Email Harold Eustache

Simpson O. Brown, Jr. Hugh W. JerniganDuane LongChris Parker, Vice ChairHarold Eustache


The WSFC Utility Commission has three committees:

Authority for Creation 

The authority for establishing the WSFC Utility Commission is North Carolina General Statutes 160-A, Article 20. The Commission was created by an agreement between the City of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County on April 20, 1976 to provide a unified water and sewer system that was operationally and financially efficient. Governance of solid waste disposal was added in 1990.


The Commission is an 11-member appointed body that oversees the publicly-operated waster, wastewater and solid waste disposal facilities that serve the City of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County. As the policy-making board, the Commission has the authority and responsibility to set rates and provide operational improvements.

Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Utilities

The WSFC Utility Commission oversees Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Utilities. With a history dating to 1774 when the Moravians of Salem began work on one of the nation's first water systems, WSFC Utilities provides high quality water, wastewater and solid waste services to approximately 381,000 residential, business and industrial users in its service area. The department is committed to responsible use of resources, reliable delivery and stewardship of the environment.

WSFC Utilities operates one landfill for solid waste, another for construction and demolition debris, and two yard waste facilities.

Three water treatment plants have a combined capacity of 91 million gallons a day, drawn from the Yadkin River and Salem Lake. Each year, these plants treat and pump approximately 13 billion gallons of water that meets or surpasses all state and federal standards for drinking water quality. The water distribution system includes 2,330 miles of water distribution mains, 14 water tanks and seven pumping stations.

The department also operates two wastewater treatment plants with a combined treatment capacity of 51 million gallons per day. The collection system includes 1,825 miles of sewer lines and 45 lift stations. The plants treat as much as 14 billion gallons of wastewater annually.

A workforce of 380 employees operates and maintains WSFC Utilities, which is not funded through taxes, but by water and wastewater user fees and landfill tipping fees.

WSFC Utilities is dedicated to proactively safeguarding public health and complies with all North Carolina Clean Water Act regulations as well as National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permits that regulate the operation of treatment plants.