Technical Coordinating Committee

The Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) is composed of key staff representatives from all local and state governmental agencies which are directly related to and concerned with the transportation planning process for the Winston-Salem Urban Area. The TCC conducts research, reviews plans and programs, and makes recommendations to the TAC based upon technical expertise.

2023 Technical Coordinating Committee Roster (PDF)

Technical Coordinating Committee By-Laws 

  1. Members
  2. Alternates
  • Jeff Fansler, TCC Chairman • Director, Winston-Salem DOT
  • Steve SmothermanDeputy Director, City-County Planning Board
  • Donna WoodsonGeneral Manager, Winston-Salem Transit Authority
  • Kelly BennettProject Planner, representing Forsyth County 
  • Dan CorderVillage Administrator, Village of Tobaccoville
  • Scott LeonardPlanning Director, Davidson County
  • Mark DavidsonAirport Director, Smith-Reynolds Airport
  • John Rogers  Commissioner, Town of Bethania
  • Suzette Morales, PE • Non-Voting Member, Planning & Environment Specialist, FHWA North Carolina Division
  • Lynn CochranNorthwest Piedmont Rural Planning Organization
  • Cary GentrySenior Environmentalist Specialist, Forsyth County Office of Environmental Assistance and Protection
  • Chris JensenTransportation Engineer, Town of Kernersville
  • Pat IveyDivision Engineer, North Carolina DOT Division 9
  • Amy FlyteVillage Manager, Village of Clemmons
  • Johnny EasterPlanning Director, Davie County
  • Aaron KingDirector, City-County Planning Board
  • James AyersTown Manager, Town of Lewisville
  • Robert PrestwoodCity Engineer, representing Winston-Salem Assistant City Manager for Public Works
  • Scott RhineExecutive Director, Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation
  • Andrew MeadwellTown Manager, Town of Bermuda Run
  • Scott SnowTown Manager, Town of Walkertown
  • Tammy Michael • Town Manager, Town of Midway
  • David SudderthPlanning Director, Stokes County
  • Pam Cook • Urban Area Coordinator, NCDOT
  • Kelly Garvin •  Assistant Director, WSDOT

Meeting Information

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) and Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) meet bimonthly on the third Thursday or on an as needed basis. All meetings are held virtually.

The TCC meeting dates for 2023 are as follows:

  • Tuesday, January 24 (Virtual)
  • Thursday, February 16  (Virtual)
  • Thursday, March 16  (Virtual)
  • Thursday, May 18 (In Person)
  • Thursday, July 20 (In Person)
  • Thursday, September 21 (In Person)*
  • Thursday, November 16 (In Person)*

*WSUAMPO TCC meeting will be held in person in the 2nd Floor Conference Room of the Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building, 100 E. First Street, Winston-Salem 27101

  1. 2023
  2. 2022
  3. 2021
  4. 2020
  5. 2019
  6. 2018