Fair Housing


The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting or buying a home, getting a mortgage, seeking housing assistance, or engaging in other housing-related activities.

The seven protected classes of persons protected under fair housing law are:  race, color, national origin, familial status, sex, disability, and religion.  The local City of Winston-Salem Fair Housing Code mirrors and is substantially equivalent to the federal Fair Housing Act.  As a result, the Winston-Salem Human Relations Commission is an enforcement partner of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and enforces fair housing laws within the city limits of Winston-Salem. The Human Relations Department investigates all jurisdictional claims of fair housing law violations.

The Winston-Salem Municipal Code lists city codes and ordinances. Search to find information related to the local fair housing act and the Human Relations Commission and Department.

Search (you may copy and paste these terms):

  • Fair Housing
  • Human Relations

Pursuant to case law and the guidance and direction of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the City of Winston-Salem Human Relations Commission and Department will continue to interpret the protected class of sex to expressly include gender identity and sexual orientation under the City of Winston-Salem Fair Housing Code.


Fair Housing Means I Am Welcome to Choose Where I Live

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity and the City of Winston-Salem Human Relations Department work hard to ensure that no person is discriminated against when it comes to finding a place to live. All children should grow up knowing they cannot be discriminated against based on race, color, gender, national origin, religion, disability or familial status. So, grab some crayons and remember Fair Housing Means You’re Welcome to Choose Where You Live!