South Ward: John C. Larson

  1. Council Member - John C. Larson
  2. About the South Ward
  3. Meeting Information

Council Member John C. LarsonContact Your Council Member

John C. Larson
Democrat, South Ward
Email John C. Larson
448 Factory Row
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
Phone: 336-771-5176 (Office)

About John C. Larson

John C. Larson has been a Council Member since 2016.

Message from Your Council Member

As your Council Member, I will voice your concerns and opinions as well as fight for the well-being of citizens of the South Ward and the City of Winston-Salem. Therefore, I would like to hear from you so that I can better serve our community.

Profession / Vocation

  • Vice President Architectural Restoration Old Salem / Historian (Retired)

Professional & Community Associations

  • Vice Chair of the Public Safety Committee
  • Member of the Public Works Committee
  • Old Salem Area Security Council
  • Business 40 Design Committee
  • Keep Winston-Salem Beautiful
  • WSFC Historic Properties Commission
  • Creative Corridors Coalition
  • Wachiovia Historical Society
  • Southeast Gateway Planning Committee


  • Seminar for Historical Administration, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, 1998
  • Attingham Trust for the Study of Country Houses, Royal Oak Scholar-Britain, 1989
  • MA, University South Carolina-Applied History
  • The Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts Summer Institute, University of North Carolina-Greensboro (UNCG)
  • BA, University South Carolina-History


  • Montpelier Architectural Review Board
  • Maryland Senate Chamber Restoration Advisory Board
  • Poplar Forest Architectural Advisory Board
  • Mount Vernon Architectural Advisory Board
  • NC National Register Advisory Committee
  • Marion Covington Foundation Board: 2001 to 2005; 2009 to 2012
  • UNCG Public History Committee, Department of History UNCG Co-Instructor of Historic Building Technology Field School
  • Board, Vernacular Architecture Forum: 1987 to 1990; 1996 to 1999 Serving as President from 1999 to 2001 and 1st Vice President 2007 to 2009
  • UNCG Department of Interior Architecture Advisory Board, 2003 to 2009