Fair Planning Commission


  • Noon
  • Third Monday and third Wednesday of every other month


Method of Appointment 

Ten members are appointed by the City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor. The chairman is appointed by the Mayor. All members must be Winston-Salem residents.

Terms of Office

Following initial terms, all terms will be three years.

Number of Members


Chief Staff Person

Robert Mulhearn
Fair Director
Phone: 336-774-8870

Current Membership

NameRace & GenderTermExpiration
Rachel BarronWhite Female2December 2016
Odell CheekWhite FemaleN/ADecember 2021
Carrie CollinsWhite Female2December 2019
Willie CumboBlack MaleN/ADecember 2015
Kathleen GarberWhite Female1December 2021
Kimberly GressleyWhite FemaleN/ADecember 2020
Safiya GriggsBlack FemaleN/ADecember 2015
Joseph HambyWhite Male2December 2019
Karen McHughWhite Female1December 2021
Anthony TangAsian Male2December 2019

Authority for Creation 

A commission, composed of 11 persons, all of whom shall be residents of the city, to be known as the Winston-Salem Fair Planning Commission and is a part of the Public Assembly Facilities Commission.


The purpose of the Commission is to oversee the following:

  • Baseball stadium
  • Bowman Gray Stadium
  • City's fairgrounds
  • Convention center
  • Coliseum
  • Coliseum annex