News Flash

Home - Main News

Posted on: April 4, 2019

City Wins Employee Safety Awards From N.C. Department Of Labor

Risk Management - July 1, 2019

City departments and facilities received 32 gold and 11 silver awards in the NC. Department of Labor’s annual safety awards program. The awards recognized city departments or city facilities with 10 or more employees that achieved and maintained good safety records during 2018, and maintained accurate records for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

To qualify for an annual safety award, a city department or facility must have had no fatalities during the calendar year at the site or location for which the award was given and have maintained an injury and illness rate at least 50% below the national average for its particular industry group.

Gold awards are based on the DART rate, a standardized calculation used by OSHA and other regulatory agencies to compare statistically significant data. DART stands for Days Away, Restrictions and Transfers, and is a measure of injury and illness per 200,000 work hours for 100 full-time equivalent employees. It measures days lost as well as days a worker is on restricted duty or transferred to other duties because of an injury or work-related illness.

Silver awards are based only on cases with days away from work. They are recorded when the worker misses at least one full day of work, not including the day of the injury.

Nick Webster, the city's risk manager, said, "I am very proud of our Employee Safety staff, as well as the employees of the winning facilities, for earning these well-deserved awards. These safety awards show a commitment, from front-line workers to senior managers, to making sure that everyone goes home safely to their loved ones at the end of the workday."

Receiving gold awards were:

  • Black-Phillips-Smith Government Center, 2301 N Patterson Avenue
  • City Hall, 101 N Main Street
  • Community Development Department, 100 E First Street Suite 423
  • DOT Parking Deck Operations, 100 E First Street Suite 307
  • Elledge Wastewater Treatment Plant, 2801 Griffith Road
  • Engineering Field Office, 1225 E Fifth Street
  • Fire Station 2, 405 Somerset Drive
  • Fire Station 3, 2995 N Liberty Street
  • Fire Station 5, 771 Palmer Lane
  • Fire Station 6, 1717 W Academy Street
  • Fire Station 7, 100 Arbor Road
  • Fire Station 10, 4700 Country Club Road
  • Fire Station 11, 2745 Waughtown Street
  • Fire Station 12, 3620 New Walkertown Road
  • Fire Station 14, 5754 Shattalon Drive
  • Fire Station 15, 4548 Shattalon Drive
  • Fire Station 16, 1701 Pope Road
  • Fire Station 18, 1505 N Peace Haven Road
  • Fire Station 19, 4430 Glenn Hi Road
  • Fire Station 20, 1305 Rural Hall-Bethania Station Road
  • Hanes Mill Road Landfill, 325 Hanes Mill Road
  • Historic Bethabara Park, 2147 Bethabara Road
  • Manson Meads Complex, 2799 Griffith Road
  • Muddy Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant, 4561 Cooper Road
  • Neilson Water Treatment Plant, 5725 Frye Bridge Road
  • Police Special Operations Division, 121 Polo Road
  • South Fork Recreation Center, 4403 County Club Road
  • Swann Water Treatment Plant, 2800 River Ridge Road
  • Thomas Water Treatment Plant, 1201 S Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
  • William Roscoe Anderson Jr. Recreation Center, 2450 Reynolds Park Road
  • Winston-Salem Fairgrounds, 421 W 27th Street
  • Winston Waterworks, 3584 Winston-Salem Road

Receiving silver awards were:

  • Bolton Street Pool and Park, 1590 Bolton Street
  • Fire Station 4, 290 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
  • Fire Station 8, 2417 Reynolda Road
  • Fire Station 17, 4295 Old Greensboro Road
  • Fleet Services, 650 Rams Drive, Building Number 3
  • Miller Park Recreation Center, 400 Leisure Lane
  • Police District 2 Station, 1539 Waughtown Street
  • Polo Park Recreation Center and Pool, 1850 Polo Road
  • Property Maintenance, 650 Rams Drive, Building Number 3
  • Sanitation Services, 2000 Lowery Street
  • Traffic Field Operations, 650 Rams Drive, Building Number 23

Read More
Facebook Twitter Email